The John and Valerie Rowe Scholars Visiting Lecture

The John and Valerie Rowe Scholars Visiting Lecture Series is designed to bring distinguished health professionals, scholars, and researchers to the Storrs campus annually to speak about critical topics in health care. Speakers are chosen based on student input. The lecture series is funded through an endowment to the University of Connecticut by the Rowe Family Foundation and is part of the John and Valerie Rowe Health Professions Scholars Program.

2023 John and Valerie Rowe Scholars Lecture

“Finding Your Niche in a Hopeful Place”

Dr. Meredithe McNamara MD, MS, FAAP
Assistant Professor; Affiliate Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

March 30, 2023 at 5:00 pm in the Student Union Theatre

Lecture Program

Dr. Meredithe McNamara


Past Rowe Scholars Visiting Lecturers

Return to Rowe Scholars Home

2022 Loneke Blackman Carr, Ph.D., RD (“The Meaning in the Mission”)
2019 Nicola Santoro, MD, PhD (“Pediatric Obesity and its Metabolic Complications: A Clinical Investigator Perspective”)
2018 Alicia Ely Yamin, JD, MPH (“Are Human Rights Still Relevant to Advancing Global Health”)
2017 Eric Feigl-Ding, PhD (“Pursuing Diverse Health Careers to Change the World: Why Dropping out of Medical School was the Best Decision of My Life”)
2016 Renee Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN, BSN (“Personalizing Pain Management”)
2015 Cato Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. (“Regenerative Engineering: The Theory and Practice of a Next Generation Field”)
2014 Michal Assaf, M.D. (‘Functional MRI – How Emerging Technology is Transforming Diagnosis and Treatment of Neuropsychiatric Disorders’)
2013 Gregory Tsongalis, Ph.D., H.C.L.D., C.C. (‘The Digital Human: How Genomics is Impacting You’)
2012 Vlad Coric, M.D. (‘New Clues to Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease’)
2011 Steven Strongwater, M.D. (‘Health Care Reform and the Future of Medical Education’)
2010 Robert Galvin, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. (‘Autism: Myth, Legend, and Science’)
2009 Joan Y. Reede, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. (‘Remembering the Past While Creating the Future’)
2008 Carolyn D. Runowicz, M.D.  UConn ’73 (‘The Answer to Cancer…’)
2007 Wendy Everett, Sc.D. (‘Partnering with Patients in the 21st Century’)
2006 Joseph Civetta, M.D. (‘Beyond Technology: The Principles of Medicine’)